Gateway Academy Westminster

Join Our Team


PART 1 Governance

Gateway Academy Trust

An Academy Trust is a particular type of company, officially called a 'charitable company limited by guarantee'.

Our company number is 08556180. Unlike other companies, an Academy Trust has no share capital and is required to direct all funds received to achieving the objectives of the Trust.

In the case of the Gateway Academy Trust, the primary objective - as stated in its articles of association - is 'to advance for the public benefit education in the United Kingdom'.

The Governing Body (Comprising of Academy Members and Directors)

The Governing Body is appointed under the terms of Gateway Academy’s articles of association. 

The Members of the Academy Trust

Members have a number of statutory rights, including the ability to appoint and remove directors, to amend the constitution subject to DfE approval and to appoint external auditors. 

The members of Gateway Academy Trust are:

  • Ms Orlaith O'Connor (Acting Chair of the Governors) 
  • Mr Matthew Turner (Acting Chair of the Finance Committee) 
  • Mrs Nasima Begum  (Parent Governor)

The Directors

The Directors are responsible to the Members and have ultimate control of Gateway Academy. Its duty is to manage the Trust's affairs, ensure compliance with regulatory and statutory duties and assumes the responsibility of employer. All of our Directors have a duty to act within the Trust's objects and powers, without conflict of interests and without personal benefit. 

The Directors of Gateway Academy Trust are:

  • Orlaith O'Connor  
    (Interim Chair of Governors  - date of appointment 25-06-2020 to 25-06-24
  • Matthew Turner
    (Appointed Governor and Acting Chair of Finance & Premises Committee - date of appointment 21-11-23 to 21-11-27)
  • Nasima Begum
    (Appointed Parent Governor - date of appointment 29-06-22 to 29-06-26) 
  • Suja Alsalman
    (Parent Governor- date of appointment 08-07-21 to 08-07-25)
  • Feruza Murad 
    (Parent Governor – date of appointment 08-07-21 to 08-07-25
  • Rania Ali 
    (Parent Governor – date of appointment 24-01-24 to 24-01-28
  • Kashmira Lad 
    (Appointed Governor – date of appointment 22-11-22 to 22-11-26) 
  • Gina Koutsika
    (Appointed Governor - date of appointment 25-06-2020 to 25-06-24) 
  • Rebecca Robinson 
    (Appointed Governor - date of appointment 10-05-2021 to 10-05-25)  
  • Sue Rego
    (Staff Governor - date of appointment 11-10-23 to 11-10-27)
  • Sarah Hacker (Chair of Governors - date of resignation 1-09-23)

All Governors sit on a number of subcommittees

The Trust Structure

2022/23 Trustees' attendance at Governing Body and Finance & Premises meetings

2021/22 Trustees’ attendance at Governing Body and Finance & Premises meetings

2020/21 Trustees' attendance at Governing Body and Finance & Premises meetings

2019/20 Trustees’ attendance at Governing Body and Finance & Premises meetings


Finance and Premises Committee

  • Orlaith O'Connor 
  • Kashmira Lad 
  • Matthew Turner (Chair) 
  • Lisa Breslin and Claire Cleary (Co-Headteachers)
  • Paul Newman (Finance Director) 
  • Joshua Hatten

Attainment and Progress Committee

  • Nasima Begum 
  • Rebecca Robinson (Chair)  
  • Lisa Breslin and Claire Cleary (Co-Headteachers)

Teaching and Learning Committee

  • Fiona McTaggart  
  • Suja Alsalman
  • Feruza Murad
  • Lisa Breslin (Co-Headteachers)

School Development Committee

  • Orlaith O'Connor
  • Rebecca Robinson
  • Feruza Murad
  • Joshua Hatten
  • Lisa Breslin and Claire Cleary (Co-Headteacher)

Appointments/HR Committee

  • According to availability

Health and Safety Committee

  • Fiona McTaggart 
  • Feruza Murad 
  • Claire Cleary (Co-Headteacher)
  • David Sargent (Site Manager)
  • Paul Newman (Premises Manager)

Complaints, Pupil Discipline Committee, Staff Disciplinary/Dismissal Committee, Grievance Committee & Grievance, Personnel and Pay Appeals Committee, Admissions Committee

  • According to availability 

Leadership Appraisal Group/Pay Committee

This committee comprises of:

  • Chair of Governors
  • Chair of Finance
  • Chair of Attainment and Progress

Mental Health and Well-Being Committee

  • Sue Rego
  • Claire Cleary (Co-Headteacher)

 Individual Governor Roles

  • SEND Governors: Nasima Begum 
  • Child Protection Governor: Kashmira Lad 
  • Early Reading Governors: Feruza Murad 
  • Race Equality Governor: Gina Koutsika 
  • Early Years Governor: Rebecca Robinson 
  • Training Link Governor: Gina Koutsika

 Accounting Officer

  • Lisa Breslin (Co-Headteacher)

 Click here to view a document modelling the  structure of the trust for 2022-2023.

 Click here to view Register of Business Interests for the Accounting Officer for 2022-2023.


PART 2 Governing Documents & Pecuniary Interests

Company information

We are legally required to file certain documents, including full annual accounts, at Companies House and members of the public may check the information held there by going to their search page and entering our company number 08556180

Please see below for some of the key documents relating to Gateway Academy Trust, including a declaration of interest for the Board of Directors.

Funding Agreement

Memorandum of Association - this is being reviewed and will be updated at our next Governing body meeting

Certificate of Incorporation

Articles of Association

Pecuniary Interests November 2023

Pecuniary Interests October 2022

2020-2021 Annual Report and Finance Statement

2021-2022 Annual Report and Finance Statement

2022-2023 Annual Report and Finance Statement

Executive Pay 2022 - 2023

Financial Information

Salary Information

To view a table summarising the salaries of higher paid staff, please see the Annual Report.

Financial Benchmarking

Follow the link below to view financial benchmarking information for the Academy.

Additional Information

Academies Trust Handbook

Governance Handbook

Governors Privacy notice

Governors Code of Conduct

Governance Allowances Policy